Buddhist Psychology

AvalokiteŇõvara: Bodhisattva of Compassion

“Although Buddhism is primarily viewed as a religion, at its heart it is a very sophisticated system for understanding the deeper workings of the psyche.”
~ Isa Gucciardi, Ph.D.

Buddhist principles create a simple yet complete structure in which to understand and navigate the experiences of our mind as we move through the world. By studying and following these principles, the suffering of the mind can be reduced with practice and discipline.

Core Priniciples

Nothing lasts forever. Any state of mind will eventually change. By learning to loosen our attachment to judgments and expectations, our suffering can change more quickly.

The Four Noble Truths:

  1. Discomfort and suffering is inevitable in life.
  2. All suffering is caused by: Attachment/Grasping, Aversion/Avoidance, Misunderstanding/Not-Knowing.
  3. All suffering can be overcome.
  4. Suffering is overcome by taking Refuge in the Three Jewels and by following the Eight-Fold Path.

The Three Jewels:
By taking refuge and finding support in any of the three jewels, one can find relief from all suffering.

  1. The Sangha: Your community
  2. The Dharma: Your life’s path & work; Spiritual teachings you follow
  3. The Buddha: Your spiritual practice, or where you find strength

The Eight-Fold Path:
By following the eight-fold path, one can find liberation from all suffering.

  1. Right View
  2. Right Intention
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration